Ok, so there isn't really a whole lot you can talk about Re: 200 Sit Ups App but I'll give it a go haha. As you know, I was doing my regular cardio/arms/legs routine whilst using this app because it's necessary!
Now, I originally used the old version of this app which has since been updated or maybe it's a different designer, as my original one wasn't available in the app store anymore. Alas, both were free and I did download the new version for comparison and will focus on that one.
When you first open the app it asks you to do an initial test so that it can start you at the appropriate level. It also shows you how to do "Good Form" sit ups so you don't hurt yourself. I put in an initial value of 45 sit ups, although I probably could have done more. From here the app started me at Week 3, Day 1, Level 3. The app has heaps of different levels and routines to suit beginners to advanced(ish).
When you start the routine it shows you how many sit ups you need to complete in each set:
Once you complete each set you tap the screen and it comes up with a 'rest' timer.. you can zero the timer but they do suggest you rest for an appropriate time.
Overall, I think this app is pretty good if you want to focus on just your core strength. However, it is important to know that you cannot get a six pack just from doing sit ups because despite all the work you are doing to build the muscle, it will be hidden by a layer of fat on your belly. This is when cardio and healthy eating is key to remove that fat.
The next app for review is "Fitness Pro" which I think is a lot like the Nike Training App so it will be interesting to compare the two.
Update!
A few months ago I decided to cut down my dairy intake as I thought that it might be making me sick then I reintroduced it back into my diet not long ago and found that yes, in fact it was making me feel bloated and disgusting. It is important that for things like constant upset stomach that you should NOT self diagnose. Well, actually for anything you shouldn't self diagnose as you never really know what it is unless you see/are a doctor. I went to my doctor this week and asked him to test me for Lactose Intolerance and man was I surprised about that testing! There are two main options for testing for lactose intolerance in adults. The first is a breath test and the second is a blood test. Both don't sound particularly pleasant. The breath test takes 3 hours (testing you every 15mins) for TWO days after drinking a concentrated amount of lactose and the blood test consists of 6 blood tests (every 15mins) over an hour and a half again drinking concentrated lactose. Originally, I was thinking of completing the breath test as the pathologist said that the blood tests can be quite traumatic (eeek!) but with exams coming up and Uni I can't afford 6 hours to be sitting in a room feeling sick with a bunch of other people (it's done in groups), so on Friday I will be having the blood tests. Both test you need to be on a dairy free diet for at least three days prior as well as fasting 12 hours before the tests.
I have a lot of friends that have dietary requirements (Gluten free mostly) and it already makes going out for dinner a challenge without me adding lactose to the mix! And I never really thought about how much lactose I ate on a daily basis..! No more cheese, milk, cream, icecream, chocolate, milo, nutella (lol) which I guess could be a good thing as there's a lot of fat in all those items (but sometimes they are so tempting haha!). So we'll see how I go!
Thanks for reading and feel free to leave comments or questions or requests :) xo